Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 14th, 2010

Okay everyone, I know it has been so long. Don’t worry I have been cooking, but my life has been very hectic. Three weeks ago, I dislocated my left knee and things have been quite different the last couple of weeks. My school has also been a little more hectic since I am almost done for the semester. I have decided to start posting a few of my favorite recipes of the week, and keep you up to date on what I have been making. The recipes that I don’t post during the week, you will still be able to vote at the end of the week.

Thank you for your support and hopefully I will be able to keep up with things more this way!

Here is the first recipe for you all, I hope you like it. I was inspired by some bananas that were beginning to go bad, and my fiancee who reminded me of Starbucks and their chocolate chip banana pound cake. I had heard that this reduced fat cake wasn’t very good, but everyone seemed to love mine, enjoy!

For each slice of the Starbucks cake it would cost you 390 calories and 7 grams of fat, my slice of cake will only cost you 154.7 calories and 3.7 grams of fat!

Chocolate Chip Banana Pound Cake

2 cups white flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 large ripe bananas, mashed

1/4 cup light stick butter, softened

3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/4 cup fat free milk

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup Splenda, granulated

1 cup Eggbeaters

1 tsp vanilla

3 oz. mini chocolate chips

3 oz semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Spray a bundt pan with non-stick cooking spray and set aside. In a large bowl combine all ingredients except for chocolate chips. Beat with an electric mixer on medium speed for 2 minutes. By hand stir in the two types of chocolate chips. Pour into a prepared pan. Bake in a preheated 325 degree oven for  65 – 75 minutes, or until cake is firm and set and begins to pull away from the sides of the pan. Cut the cake into 24 pieces. I normally cut 12 vertical slices, and then cut each of those slices in half horizontally. Enjoy for dessert or for a very decadent breakfast!

Read Full Post »