Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 28th, 2010

I made these biscotti the other day for the first time, and they were awesome. It wasn’t only my first time making this recipe, it was my first time making biscotti! I felt that the recipe was fun and easy to follow thanks to Giada De Laurentiis. I found the recipe on foodnetwork.com, and went about the business of modifying like I always do! I used Eggbeaters in place of the eggs, and used sliced almonds instead of whole chopped almonds – I felt like by using sliced I would get more almond flavor in every bite! I also used semi-sweet chocolate chips in place of chocolate and went without the lemon zest. The only thing I think I will do next time is use orange zest in place of the lemon zest – I love orange and chocolate together! I decided to add almond extract to the recipe for next time if I leave the orange zest out to give them an extra punch of almond flavor. The nice part is that these biscotti are fairly versatile, or so it seems. Feel free to also use a blend of half-sugar half-Splenda, I didn’t this time because I was making them for some friends that are very sensitive to the Splenda taste, so I went without. By replacing these simple things the biscotti only come to 166.7 calories, 3.5 grams of fat and 1.4 grams of fiber. For half-Splenda half-sugar ones the biscotti would cost you calorie wise only 148 calories, 3.5 grams of fat and 1.4 grams of fiber. The original biscotti recipe for each piece would have been 301 calories, 12 grams of fat and 1.4 grams of fiber! Think of that difference, one biscotti is the same as a meal, the other is more like a snack!

Almond Chocolate Biscotti

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup cornmeal

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup Eggbeaters

2 tablespoons almond extract

3/4 cup sliced almonds

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips, melted

Directions

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. In a large bowl whisk together the flour, cornmeal, baking powder and salt. In another large bowl beat the sugar and the Eggbeaters with an electric mixture until pale yellow about 3 minutes. Mix in the almond extract and then the flour mixture and beat until just blended. The dough will be very sticky. Stir in the almonds and allow the dough to rest for 5 minutes. Divide the dough evenly into 2 equal mounds and place on a prepared baking sheet. With moist hands, space the dough evenly apart and form into two 9 x 3 inch logs. Bake the logs for 35 minutes in a preheated oven or until they are lightly browned. Cool the biscotti logs on a cooling rack for 5 minutes once they come out of the oven. Using a serrated knife cut the logs crosswise into 3/4-inch-thick diagonal slices. Arrange the biscotti cut side down on the same baking sheet. Bake again for about 25 minutes or until cookies are pale golden brown. Let the biscotti cool completely. After the biscotti are cooled, take the melted chocolate ( I normally melt mine in the microwave – not the most professional way, but it gets the job done!) and drizzle the chocolate over the cooled biscotti. After you have artfully drizzled chocolate over your twice baked cookies, pop them in the freezer to get the chocolate hardened. After the chocolate has hardened take them out of the freezer and enjoy with your next cup of joe, or your friend named Joe – either way they are really tasty!

Read Full Post »